Θέματα Forums Αρχεία

  · Κεντρική σελίδα

· Θέματα
· Κορυφαία άρθρα
· Αγγελίες
· Αναζήτηση

· Συζητήσεις - Forums
· Downloads
· Σύνδεσμοι
· Λέσχες

Web Links
· Motobet
· Nora Agapi - Photographer
· Νάουσα Ημαθίας
· Qashqai Club
· Η ιστοσελίδα των Μεθάνων
· Σύλλογος Τετρακίνησης Μαγνησίας
· MotoRidersClub

Fast Kalahari 1000 Produced new winners

The Kalahari 1000, the 3rd round of the ATV Powersport ITP National off-road Championship for motorbikes and the 4th for quads, produced new winners and while Louwrens Mahoney (KTM SA Racing) scored his debut national off-road victory, Brendan Badenhorst (ATV Powersport Lonestar 450) won his third race of the season.

After the second day’s racing, Mahoney and Badenhorst were the leaders of the overall motorbike and quad categories respectively and they kept their positions until the finish.
In the quad category, the defending champion, Hendrik Potgieter (Bombardier Speed Quad) passed Badenhorst at the halfway-mark on the last day when Badenhorst’s crew had to replace the clutch on his Lonestar 450 and later Badenhorst lost time and a few positions with a five minute penalty as the result of a faulty yellow rear-light on his quad.
But he caught up again to win the Kalahari 1000 for the first time.

Mahoney, probably the youngest off-road motorbike-rider to win the gruelling desert race, had to fight off Clayton Enslin (EPH Shimwells Yamaha) who ran out of fuel in the riverbed and had to push his bike to the refuel point. Enslin had to settle for the second place and was followed by Geoffrey Wolhuter (Sadiba Russell Campbell Kawasaki). Wolhuter was third after the second day and kept this position during the last day. 250cc Class-riders took all the podium positions at the 2005 Kalahari 1000.

The winner of the Kalahari 1000 for the last three years, Gray Dick (Shimwells Yamaha/Panasonic Car Audio) crashed during the second day while his arch-rival, Darryl Curtis (KTM SA Racing) admitted that he was quite lucky to escape with only an injured wrist after a high-speed collision with a tree.

Gavin Louw (Shimwells Yamaha) had his best desert race ever and finished in the fourth place overall while he took the laurels in the 200cc Class with his 250cc four-stroke Yamaha. He had to keep Riaan van Niekerk (KTM SA Racing) off his back, but Van Niekerk also ran out of fuel and lost some valuable time. He eventually finished in a deserving sixth place overall.

In the quad category, the 2002 and 2003 winner, Cornel de Villiers (Bombardier Speed Quad) lost time during the second and the third day with flat tyres, but he kept his pace and finished second overall followed by Potgieter who also lost time due to flat tyres. Potgieter was leading the race sporadically during the second and third day and his total time was only 32 seconds slower than that of De Villiers.

Like last year, Theo Boshoff (Jet Sport Bombardier) was the first quad rider at the finish and the fastest for the day, but on accumulated times he finished in the fourth place overall. He was followed by Tiaan Reynecke (EMD Racing) whose crew had to work through the night to repair the suspension and engine on his Yamaha Raptor after the time-trail. He kept a steady pace and nursed his quad home after the engine started to sound like an industrial diesel-machine.

Dallie Terblanche (ATV Powersport Lonestar Honda) had a consisted race and he finished sixth overall. The swing-arm bolt on his 510cc Honda broke at the halfway-point during the last day and he hoped that his “repair-inventions” lasted as his crew did not have a replacement spare.

The 2004 Kalahari 1000 winner, Carl Wichmann (Bombardier Speed Quad) was the second quickest on the last day, but he lost valuable time with two crashes the previous day and could only manage an seventh position overall.

Christo van der Merwe (Bombardier Speed Quad Nelspruit) won the Senior Class and finished eighth overall. He was followed by two brothers from Ermelo, Vincent and Glen Loubser, both on Yamaha YFZ450 quads. These two watched-out for each other and when Glen got stuck in the riverbed, big brother Vincent was there to help him out.

In the overall motorcycle category, Alex Vowles (The Roost KTM) was the fifth rider home while he also won the Open Class for the first time this season. The rest of the top ten positions were filled by 250cc-riders – Hylton Smith (Ramco Suzuki) was seventh and was followed by Wayne Farmer (The Roost KTM); Brandon Els (Ramco Suzuki) and his team-mate, Laurence Murton.

Kenneth Gilbert (EPH Shimwells Yamaha/Wasa Racing) was the winner of the 125cc Class for the third time this season and was followed by Deon Enslin (Ramco Suzuki) and Terry Waters (The Roost KTM).

Brian Bontekoning (KTM SA Racing) won the Senior Class for the third consecutive time this year and was followed by Shaun Kirk (Ramco Suzuki) and Dudley Smith (Husaberg).

The winner of the national non-championship Master Quad Class, was Milton Thesen (Yamaha) while Emden Els (ATV Powersport Lonestar 450) won the national non-championship 30 Plus Class and Anneli Cooper (Bombardier) won the non-championship Ladies Class.


(Elza Thiart. Tel: +27 82 4588 517)


More articles




Επιλέξτε γλώσσα



[ Page created in 0.037484 seconds. ]